Using a Preference Centre

A preference centre is a standalone page where your contacts can change their own details and select which marketing lists they want to belong to, instead of opting to unsubscribe.

A preference centre is a standalone page where your contacts can change their own details and select which marketing lists they want to belong to, instead of opting to unsubscribe. This could mean updating their name or email address, or any custom field information you have stored for them. 

If you only send certain emails to specific lists, this helps contacts choose which messages they’ll receive from you.

To learn more about what a preference centre is and why you need one, take a read of our blog.

How to add a preference centre link in your email

You can link to your preference centre using text, an image, or a button.

Add a preference centre link to text

In a Text content block, highlight the text you want to link.

On the text toolbar, click on the 'Special links' dropdown.

Hover over 'Links' and then select 'Preferences' from the list of options that appear.

This will add the preference centre link to the text.

Add a preference centre link to a button

To add a preference centre link to a Button content block, click on the button and navigate to the Content Properties panel on the right-hand side.

Under the 'Url' field, click 'Special links'.

Click on 'Links'.

Click on 'Preferences'.

This will add the preference centre link to the button.

Add a preference centre link to an image

To add a preference centre link to an Image content block, click on the image and navigate to the Content Properties panel on the right-hand side.

Scroll down to the 'Image link' option.

Under the 'Url' field, click 'Special links'.

Click on 'Links'.

Click on 'Preferences'.

This will add the preference centre link to the image.

What will a contact see when they click on the preference centre link?

When a contact clicks on the preference centre link in your email, they will see a page similar to this:

There are two sections to the page - one where a contact can update their details, and one where a contact can update their subscription preferences.

To update their details, a contact will enter text into the default and custom fields that are on the page.

To update their subscription preferences, a contact can select the toggles of the lists they want to be subscribed to, or deselect the toggles of the lists they want to be removed from.

The contact will then need to click 'Save' at the bottom of the page.

The contact will then see the following 'Your preferences are updated' message.

The details that you hold against the contact will automatically update in your account.

How to customise what is visible on the preference centre

In your account, you can choose which default fields, custom fields, and lists are visible on this page.

The fields and lists that appear on the page will depend on if they are 'Public'. If they are 'Private', they will not be shown on the page. 

You can define the privacy settings of a list or a custom field when you create a new one.

Alternatively, you can edit the privacy settings at a later time.

How to customise which default fields are shown on the preference centre

On the main navigation bar, hover over 'Subscribers' and select 'Custom Fields' from the dropdown.

Click on the 'Default Fields' tab.

In the 'Visibile' column, select the toggles of the fields you want to appear on the preference centre. Deselect the toggles of any fields that you don't want to appear.

How to customise which custom fields are shown on the preference centre

On the main navigation bar, hover over 'Subscribers' and select 'Custom Fields' from the dropdown.

You will be able to see which custom fields are private and which are public in the 'Visiblibility' column.

To edit the visibility of a custom field on your preference centre, click on the cog icon next to the custom field you want to edit and select 'Edit'.

The 'Custom Field Detail' panel will then appear on the right-hand side.

Scroll down to 'Privacy settings'. Here you can select whether the custom field is public (shows in preference centre) or private (doesn't show in preference centre).

Click 'Save' to update the settings.

How to customise which lists are shown on the preference centre

On the main navigation bar, hover over 'Subscribers' and select 'Lists' from the dropdown.

You will be able to see which lists are private and which are public in the 'Visiblibility' column.

To edit the visibility of a list on your preference centre, click on the list name.

Then, click on the 'List Settings' tab. 

On this page, you will be able to see checkboxes to make the list public (shows in preference centre) or private (doesn't show in preference centre).

When you're done, click 'Save' at the bottom of the page to update the settings.

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. Cookie Policy